Crystallize

Recently in my art I have been incorporating crystals into bodies in a body horror manner. The colors and types of crystals have been random at this point. Pretty sure most of them don’t even exists, but tonight I am going to try to explain them and make my art make sense with what the crystal colors mean. Even if that was not my intent. Let’s see how close I accidentally got.

Anakin Skywalker “Exploding Within.” Red Apophylilte. Sure. Kinda close but not really but let’s pretend it is. “This is the stone of truth, bringing recognition of your true self and allowing that to be shown to the world.” Anakin showing who he truly is. I relate this back to my first post on here and my theme of “I am a question to the world, not an answer to be heard.” lyrics from I’m Still Here, song from Disney movie, Treasure Planet. (Anakin is going to be coming up a lot in this blog.) Anakin’s truth is… I really don’t know. That maybe Anakin is such a broad concept because he’s fictional that who he is depends on who you ask. Which is lazy writing but fuck it I still love Star Wars. And I still love Anakin.

But to me Anakin truly is complicated. While also so simply two-dimensional with his White and Black. Light and Dark. His over abundance of love and hate. He shows his feelings so clearly. That even when he’s imploding, we all can see it. I’m not wording myself right and I am going to have to do a separate blog on just Anakin some day once I can word everything correctly.

Ahsoka Tano “Untitled” Sapphire. The stone of wisdom and royalty. This is pretty obvious for Ahsoka. She is a Queen. A Goddess. Oh stop me I’m sounding like tumblr. But it’s true. Ahsoka is the personification of the Light. It’s canon, I’m sure. It should be at least. When she died, Ashla (the Light Side of the Force, or Daughter as she was called in Clone Wars) brought her back through Anakin. Ashla is in her. I mean, Ahsoka must know it since she used Ashla as he fake name in the Ahsoka book.

I did two versions of Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy because I liked both versions. Lovers entwined and floating. Not exactly what I was going for but it came out pretty decently.

Harley Quinn, now her crystals, I’m not even sure if they’re real. Let’s pretend that they are garnets. Bringing order to chaos. Which Harley needs some of don’t you think? But garnets are also about protection and energy. Harley is a high energy type of person and maybe she needs some garnet to protect her from Joker.

Poison Ivy, red crystals mean passion, love… pretty dead on for her. ‘Nuff said.

 Falling 1, let’s pretend this is rubies. Rubies protect you from nightmares. Falling happens in a lot of my nightmares because I wish I had wings and that I could fly but all I get is falling forever, which is why I am scared of heights. (I wouldn’t be scared of heights if I could fly though) I think I might rename this piece Nightmare.

Falling 2, (I’m not great at coming up with titles for my art sometimes. Mostly I’m just lazy and since not being on deviant art titles to my art doesn’t even really matter any more) I love that Bloodstone is green and opaque. It’s known to be healing. So this falling figure is healing.

lostinparadise
Lastly… this is obviously amethyst which is a healing stone. This is the piece where I decided I should start putting meaning to my pieces. This falling figure is healing, becoming amethyst while healing . Maybe becoming stone isn’t so bad after all. Because in the end we can always break out of that shell a newly healed and stronger person. Sorry, I am a Cancer (the crab) Having a “shell” is a thing with us. Hahahaha. I named this piece Lost in Paradise because when I become lost in my safe places I am healing. Figure wasn’t meant to look like Anakin but he did, didn’t he.

Leave a Reply

